What is the frequency for a period of 60 microseconds?

• Thread starter taho2720
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Frequency
In summary, the conversation is about a first year electrical engineering student struggling with understanding concepts and completing homework. The student's teacher assigned a homework question where they need to find the frequency given a period of 60 microseconds. The student correctly uses the formula frequency = 1/period and converts the unit to hertz. They are unsure if their answer of 16666.7 Hz is correct and asks for confirmation on a forum.
hi all - I am a first year electrical engineer attending college at devry university. i haven't had any previous experience in electronics or engineering so I am really having a hard time grasping some of these concepts. anyway my teacher assigned some homework where the preiod and time are given, and all i need to do is find the frequency.

the first question has the first period at 60 us.

i knwo that frequency is equal to 1 over the period. so it would be 1/60us. i just can't seem to get a frequency that makes any sense out of this. i keep getting 16666.7 hz. is this anywhere near correct ?

i take the period in the denominator and multiply it by 10 to the -6 power because the unit is microseconds right ?

im sure you guys will be hearing a lot from me on these forums, as i have no previous experience in this field, so please don't flame me and call me names.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Your method and answer are correct.

Hi there, don't worry about not having previous experience in this field. It can definitely be overwhelming at first, but with practice and patience, you'll get the hang of it.