Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is this old aparatus?

1. Mar 7, 2013 #1
    I'm a student teacher, practicing some physics teaching in a new classroom with old stuff in it. My teacher associate and I can't figure out exactly what this thing is.
    base.jpg
    top.jpg

There's a coil, with a small electrode strip coming off the top, a pulley up at the top, a manual latch up at the top to let the carriage drop down, some dampening tubes for the landing, and a stack to add weights to at the bottom of the carriage. It can be used for PE -> KE conversion type labs, but I'm not sure what the point of the coil/electricity is?? We plugged it in for fun, unfortunately there were no cool sparks or anything ( ;-) ) But the coil did buzz, and the electrode vibrated.

There's also a non-working tesla coil in the class, which I haven't taken out of the cabinet yet, and the teacher hasn't attempted to troubleshoot or fix yet - anyone with experience with these things?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 11, 2013 #2
    no ideas?

4. Mar 11, 2013 #3

Bandersnatch

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

5. Mar 11, 2013 #4
    beauty, thanks. Seems similar to a Gaertner Freefall aparatus, (I assumed it was something to do with freefall, but didn't get the wording right in my searches) - and the coil is likely an electromagnet, used to measure acceleration somehow. I'm off on a good enough start now - thanks!!
    I'll report back when I figure out a good way to use it.

Any ideas on repairing a tesla coil?

6. Mar 11, 2013 #5
    Does look like the that aparatus you mentioned. THe pulley would allow you to do an Atwood machine in addition to freefall.

7. Mar 11, 2013 #6

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The coil maybe a sparker can you find a way to feed a strip of waxed paper through it?

8. Mar 11, 2013 #7