1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is wrong with me?

1. Oct 18, 2007 #1
    What is wrong with me???

I'm attempting to major in physics at Cornell University. I'm an undergraduate. It's my junior year. I have done alright in school so far (I have a 3.62 GPA here, I've been taking the honors physics sequence, I have A's and one A- in all my physics classes so far.)

This semester though, I am failing horribly. I'm spending every waking minute I possibly can on school, either studying or doing homework or going to class. I'm only sleeping a couple hours a night on weeknights, with more on the nights before exams and on weekends. Despite this, I can't seem to pass my classes.

I'm taking Advanced Honors E&M, elementary spanish, a class on electronic circuits, and a class on mathematical physics. Of those, the only ones I'm passing are E&M (doing somewhere around the mean, it's curved to an A-) and Spanish. I'm failing circuits and math, and I don't know why.

I've been doing okay on the homeworks, and spending as much time as I can possibly spare preparing for each test. I just got back from the circuits midterm, and I went into it honestly thinking I would do fine - I read the book twice, re-did every homework problem and breezed through them, and studied all my notes. But when I got to the exam, I wasn't able to find a complete answer to a single problem. And from what people said afterwards, they didn't find it to be that hard.

What is wrong with me? I can't work any harder. Why did my brain just stop working?
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2007 #2

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Kick back ,relax and go out. You're spending too much time worrying and working.
  4. Oct 18, 2007 #3