1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What kind of GPA should I expect to have if I want to get tuition waiver for Graduate

1. Oct 18, 2011 #1
    school?

My major is Electrical Engineering. I plan on specializing in Power. Currently in junior year with a GPA of 3.52. No co-op or research experience. My current school's engineering program is ranked by usnews as 110-140

My ideal would be to get into a U.C school with tuition waiver for a M.S in electrical engineering. I plan on graduating in 4 years with no work experience. Can I expect my ideal to come true given the above circumstances?

What score should I aim above on the GRE exam?

My family is very poor and international as well so no FAFSA. so I NEED tuition waiver for grad school.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2011 #2
    Re: What kind of GPA should I expect to have if I want to get tuition waiver for Grad

Your grades are about where they need to be - try to keep above 3.50.

When you say UC, I assume you meen the Univeristy of California system. If so, keep in mind that these institutions are facing very severe budget issues and funding is more limited. I would still apply to UC system but try to find back ups that seem responsive.

4. Oct 18, 2011 #3
    Re: What kind of GPA should I expect to have if I want to get tuition waiver for Grad

when you say they are where are need to be, do you mean for admission or for getting financial waivers? I would ideally want to be in uc irvine or uc davis because I see schools such as ucla, usc, cal-tech, berkley as being out of my reach.

I really want to be in california because my family is likely moving there and my sister will likely be transferring to berkley or cal-tech in the next 2 years

thanks