Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What Makes a Ballon Move?

1. Sep 11, 2004 #1
    Hi all,

I'm relatively new to physics, and was curious: when one does let the air release out of a ballon, why does it, and in which way is its force acting? I thought maybe the direction of the force was in the opposite direction it was traveling, but that doesn't seem to make much sense, since that would mean it wouldn't move because of Newton's third law. And does the amount of air surrounding the ballon have any effect on its force (i.e. would it move differently in a vacuum?)? Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :)
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2004 #2
    basically whats happening is the air pressure in the balloon is what pushes the air out of the balloon. and since every action has a reaction the air then pushes the balloon. it would move the same in a vacuum. this is kind of how spaceships move in space.
  4. Sep 11, 2004 #3
    This is exactly how spaceships move in space. They accelerate a gas of somekind, rocket exhaust, steam, compressed air, etc. out a nozzle and the reaction force acclerates the spaceship. Newton's Third Law at work!
  5. Sep 11, 2004 #4
    Rocket motion not only involves the third law, but also the law of conservation of momentum. As the rocket loses mass in the form of exhausts it gains velocity.
  6. Sep 12, 2004 #5
    If it were in a vacuum, I believe the ballon would fly in a parabola (or a straight line if there is no gravity). I think the funky flightpath we see is due to aerodynamical effects caused by fluctuations in balloon shape as it shrinks.