1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What role plays chemistry in a physics career

1. Dec 13, 2004 #1
    Hi there, i am new to this forum, two questions...

1) what is the difference between physics areas: applied, classical, theortetical, quantum et al.

2) what role plays chemistry in a physics career, is it necessary to be really skilled in chemistry? sometimes thery overlapp

Thanks for the advice
    Best regards.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 13, 2004 #2
    Well, I am a freshman at Uni. I cannot give you an in depth answer for the first one. [may be other mebers on this thread will come later?] but about the second question:

Well, the "skills" you need for chem are almost the same skills you need for physics: Handling mathematical equations, good algebra solving ...etc even it varies a little bit in how important each of these skills are in chem and phyis fields.

My experience tells me that they overlap in some places and it helps you know sometimes how chem look at the thingy to understand how phys look at it, For example gases PV=nRT is a famous topic that physics nad chem share, still. After a while they expaned the gases topics differenlty.

In short, taking a physics career will not require some body to "love" chem, and thus to take it.

4. Dec 21, 2004 #3
    Hi there

thanx moses for your reply

I was about to start a career in chem next year but decided for electronics instead.
    (indeed i love and will miss chem but electr has to do more with my current job in IT)
    Both of them share math, also phys but strangely with different topics. Sure, there are also plenty of phys-related topics scattered all over.
    Which one of the careers has more of physics or applied-physics stuff ???
    Did i take the right decision?