Student in Argentina Seeking Advice on Degree Path

• Thread starter RadioactivMan
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is a student in Argentina and is considering pursuing a "Licenciatura" in physics which would take an additional year on top of their current program. They are interested in applying to graduate programs in the US or Europe in the future. They are seeking opinions from those who have been in a similar situation. The individual also mentions that many universities allow for graduate studies after obtaining a bachelor's equivalent and shares a friend's experience with their degree not being accepted as a master's in a US program. However, they reassure that entering at 24 years old is not a problem and may even give them an advantage in completing the program faster.
RadioactivMan
hi,
I am a student in a university in Argentina, here the time need to get a "Licenciatura"(I think is the equivalent to a master in Europe-not sure about the equivalent in USA ) is 5 years. At the moment I am in the E.E program but the next year I want to start the "Licenciatura" in physics doing both it would take me 6 years at least I hope so.
So, the questions are:
Should I start with the physics degree or should continue with just E.E?
Would getting into graduate program being like 24 years be a problem while applying to Universities in USA or Europe( after learning more English I`m planning to get into a graduate program there, at least i hope so)?

I appreciate any opinion, especial of those who are or were in a similar situation.

(sorry if I did many mistakes in my writing)

Physics news on Phys.org
i don't know if that knowledge will be helpful, but a lot of universities allow to aplly graduate studies after obtaining bachelor equivalent.