1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What should I do?

1. Aug 31, 2012 #1
    Hi everyone!

I am a high school sophomore (But I am 17... yes, I know), I would like to pursue an education in organic chemistry or physics, after all both fields are deeply connected. For anyone still wondering why I am a sophomore at 17, it is largely because I was enrolled with an online-correspondence based school, which in all fairness was a very pleasant experience. However, it has allowed me to pursue my own interests over the course work.

Right now I am almost finished with Stewart's Calculus 3rd edition... actually I think there is a review on this site. Although I can't say I found the book "easy", I did not find it particularly hard. Once I am finished with this I would like to begin either multivariable calculus or linear algebra in conjunction with Linus Pauling's General chemistry.
    My schooling has stopped with 96-99% in hon algebra, hon geometry, hon chemistry, hon biology and a few english courses. And that is pretty much all I have credit for in high school. :cry:

I mean I have read other books and such of course.

I would love to go to M.I.T. or Caltech, but that would just be for my self esteem.

Now I have pretty much been dropped from my course because I didn't finish my other subjects. Sure if I had funds I could re enroll, but I don't. What should I do? Community college? How do students go about transferring from community college to state universities, and what university would be an option?

Thanks everyone :)

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2012 #2
    Ah, that's an interesting position to be in.