1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What to self teach?

1. Nov 14, 2009 #1
    I'm a chemistry major and recently discovered that I would love to go to grad school for physical chemistry (specifically computational chemistry and biophysical chemistry). Unfortunately I'm in my third year of college and don't have many free classes left. I started teaching myself math (derivative/integral/multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra, and probability & statistics). I've already had physics 1 & 2 but they were algebra based unfortunately. I really want to self learn higher levels of physics but I have a few concerns.
    First, is that enough math? Should I learn any other math besides those subjects?
    My other concern is if I should get a book and learn physics 1 & 2 all over again with calculus. I'm extremely familiar with all the concepts they teach in there, just not how to derive the equations using calculus. Is it worth relearning all those concepts and going through all that material again or should I move onto learning Classical Dynamics the calculus way? The thing I am most curious about is what order I should be teaching myself the subject (typical undergraduate curriculum- Classical Dynamics, Modern Physics, Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics, Electronics, Electricity and Magnetism, Electromagnetic Waves and Optics, Biophyiscs, Quantum Mechanics). Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 15, 2009 #2
    More math is better, but if you can to basic partial differential equations, that's enough to get by. The reason more math is better is that if you do math programs, it helps your brain deal with unrelated bits of math.