1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What's it like to be a theoretical physicist?

1. Nov 4, 2005 #1
    Can anyone give me a description?

Maybe I should ask some questions too.
    Do most theoretical physicists work alone or with colleagues?
    Do most theoretical physicists work at home?
    What do you need while doing your work? Just pen and paper? Or do most need books to refer to? I basically want to be able to work where ever I go.

And if there are any victorians here, what's a good university for physics?
    Right not I have monash uni in mind because they got the 3 different science courses, even though I won't make it into the one that needs 99.3 ENTER score.
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 4, 2005 #2
    Its a lot of fun.
    Actually I'm still an undergrad, and my work is mostly computational rather than purely theoretical. Thing is, the vast majority of physicists do it because they love doing it, so they all enjoy it.
    The vast majority work in collaboration, though often this is a long distance rather than local collaboration. A quick glance at authors of papers on arxiv.org will reveal this.
    No, either out of a university, or government/industry labs. Though for pure theo work, University posts are by far the most likely.
    Depends on how smart you are. My work revolves around computer modelling of energy transport, so I spend a lot of time working at my computer, or solving equations by hand. I almost never set foot in a lab though for my work.
  4. Nov 4, 2005 #3
    Hi, Erzeon !

Do you have any specific area of theoretical physics in mind ?