1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What's next?

1. Jul 25, 2009 #1
    I have learnt

Calculus (single and multi-variable)

Ordinary Differential equations (upto 2nd order linear with Laplace transforms, including Dirac Delta functions and Fourier Series. I have not learnt series solutions nor special functions which I see is the next step in this chapter)

Linear Algebra (self-taught from Hoffman and Kunze. I have not completed this however. Am still continuing)

Have done the Calculus of Variations chapter from Boas Math Methods

My math is physics oriented. I hope to start reading Goldstein's book this fall, followed by E&M, QM, Stat Mech etc. in the following years. What math should I learn now? Tensors? Group theory? Pick up where I left off from ODEs and continue to PDEs? Complex analysis? Could you also suggest textbooks for the respective chapters?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 25, 2009 #2
    Well ultimately it depends on what field you want to study but Complex Analysis and PDE's is important, I'd also maybe do some more linear algebra. If you have Boas look at everything in there and make sure you have it. Make sure you've gone over special functions and such (Bessel and Von Neumann at the very least).

For GR: You want differential geometry and tensor analysis
    QM is Linear algebra and complex analysis.
    If you wanna go on and do QFT and stuff I'd spend more time on calculus of variations (which is really a subfield of functional analysis).

4. Jul 25, 2009 #3