NS Millennium Problem: Uniqueness & Solutions Explained

In summary, if solutions to the NS equations are found to be non-unique, then the equations would need to be corrected. If a solution is found to be unique, then it would be proof that the solution exists and is stable.
myshadow
I recently came across the NS millennium problem and I read that uniqueness for the NS equations is unknown. I have two questions.

First question, if solutions are found to be non-unique, would the NS equations have to be corrected?

Second question, since uniqueness is unknown, if someone finds a blow-up solution would he or she have to prove that it's unique to answer the problem? (e.g. turbulent and smooth solution possible for exactly the same IC, BC, etc..? kinda strange.)

I'm curious what uniqueness means in relation to smoothness and turbulence. I'm not an expert in math so sorry if the answers are obvious. haha. Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org

There are equations that represent the dynamics of systems which are much simpler than NS, and are known to have non-unique solutions. A simple example is an oscillating mass on a spring, where the stiffness of the spring is nonlinear (Google for Duffing's equation). There are situations where the same applied force can produce different stable oscillations with completely different amplitudes. This is not just a theoretical curiosity. For example there was a lot of rather urgent work done in the aerospace industry in the 1990s, when it was discovered (by chance) that something similar to this could occur in existing designs of aircraft jet engines, with fairly obvious consequences for safety.