When is the Best Time to Prepare for the GRE?

In summary: My opinion is that you shouldn't study for the general GRE outside of taking the practice test. There isn't really a way to study for it - it tests general quantitative skills (and as a physicist, you have those), vocabulary (how are you going to study for this anyway?) and reading comprehension (again, how are you going to study for that?) Just go full speed ahead on the physics GRE.
Rev
Hi guys. I'm relatively new to the Physics Forums, so forgive me if this question has been asked a bunch already. (I'm sure it has).

I'm currently a junior in UCLA and majoring in Physics. I want to go to grad school (not sure which yet) so I'll obviously need to take both the general GRE and Physics GRE.

I was wondering if someone could give me some advice. I'm currently doing research (hopefully leads to a publication sometime at the start of my senior year). I'm taking 3-4 upper div physics classes each quarter and am also grading papers for other physics classes. Basically, I'm not sure how I can squeeze GRE study time in, so I was debating on whether or not I should just finish my degree and take a year off to prepare for GRE's. Or is this something I can cram into my senior year? There's a brief period of time in the summer where I may be able to squeeze 2-3weeks, but I'm not sure if that's enough. Also, I'm not sure if graduate schools will see the last 2 quarters worth of upper division work, so will that potential hurt my chances? My GPA is currently a 4.0, and I've scored a 2300 on the SAT, but have no idea how I'll do for GRE's and the PGRE.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org