Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where do I start in astrology?

1. Jun 24, 2004 #1
    Where do I start in astronomy?

I was introduced to astrology just a while ago but i dont know too much about it. I just got a telescope and Im a beginner when it comes to astrology. I love to observe the stars and the heavens but I dont really know too much about them. I dunno really whats interesting to study about the skies and was wondering what was. What is fascinating about astrology and where should I start?

Last edited: Jun 24, 2004
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 24, 2004 #2
    Are you talking about Astrology or Astronomy here?

Two different things. You may want to clear that up first.

http://skypub.com is always a great place to start for Astronomy.

4. Jun 24, 2004 #3
    Oh sorry I completely meant astronomy. Im not into astrology much, but yes I meant astronomy. And thanks that website is a good help.

5. Jun 24, 2004 #4

Janitor

Science Advisor

Pisces, Virgo rising, is visible in your southwestern sky tonight--but only if you first throw a pinch of salt over your left shoulder and spin your body three times counterclockwise. :wink:

6. Jun 24, 2004 #5
    Lmao... oh silly.

Yeah, I flip out whenever someone mistakes astronomy for astrology.

7. Jun 24, 2004 #6

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The best way to start is to find an astronomy club in your area, and go to one of their meetings or outings. If you need help finding such a club, let us know.

- Warren

8. Jun 24, 2004 #7
    Or you could go to the club finder at Sky & Telescope.

http://skyandtelescope.com/resources/organizations

Last edited: Jun 24, 2004
  9. Jun 25, 2004 #8

Phobos

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member