Apply to US Schools with a PGRE Score of 830?

• Thread starter h0dgey84bc
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Apply
In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's disappointment with their PGRE score of 830, as they had hoped for a higher score for their PhD application in HEP Theory. They are unsure if they should still apply to US schools, given their profile of a UK undergraduate and master's degree with a high GPA and publication, but lower General GRE scores. They question if there are any schools that would accept them in such a competitive field, especially as an international student. The conversation also mentions the speaker's research experience, which includes a published paper in a related field.
h0dgey84bc
Hi,

So the PGRE scores are finally in, I didn't do as well as I might of hoped (830, 79th percentile) :frown:, as I'm an international student (UK) and want to do a PhD in HEP Theory, so I was aiming for 900+ for the best schools, I guess.

I'm not really sure what to do now, I have a few UK schools I've applied for anyway so there's always that to fall back on, but I'm wondering after all this effort if I should still apply to some US places? My profile basically is: UK (4 year, undergrad taught) Master's degree, top few in year (so quite high GPA when converted) w/ publication. General GRE scores were 780 Q, 570 V, 5.5 Writing. PGRE 830.

So I'm obviously not getting into Harvard/Princeton/MIT/Caltech/Stanford/Berkeley, is there anywhere that will take me with HEP theory be so uber competitive and being international?

Any advice most appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
What's your research experience like?

Research experience consists of my fourth year masters project from which the paper was published in JHEP (was HEP-phenomenology related to LHC detection channel though, not 100% theoretical)

What is a PGRE score?