Where to start?

• Thread starter poobar
  • Start date
Hey all,
I am a current physics undergrad. Next semester I will be taking a course which covers quantum mechanics. I am really interested in the subject and want to do some reading and learning before I take the course. I am strong in calculus and I just completed a course in differential equations. Can you give me a good place to start/good website to read?

thanks

Answers and Replies

G01
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Your best bet is to probably buy your textbook early and crack it open.

As suggestions:

Griffith's is not a standard for QM, but it's a popular book. Unfortunately, it is lacking in its coverage of bra ket notation, which is very important.

Gasiorowicz is better with teaching bra-kets and operator algebra. However, it reads like a summary. I don't think it is anywhere near as well written as Griffiths.

I have also heard good things about Townshend's book, but have not read it myself.

in my opinion there are perfect book to start with Quantum physics and Quantum mechanics "understanding quantum physics to Michel A. Morrison" the book not shallow and not complicated

A. Neumaier
Science Advisor
Insights Author
2019 Award
Hey all,
I am a current physics undergrad. Next semester I will be taking a course which covers quantum mechanics. I am really interested in the subject and want to do some reading and learning before I take the course. I am strong in calculus and I just completed a course in differential equations. Can you give me a good place to start/good website to read?

thanks
http://de.arxiv.org/abs/0810.1019

G01
Homework Helper
Gold Member
This reference seems way too advanced to use as an introduction to quantum mechanics for an undergraduate.

The OP mentioned no background in group theory or lie algebras, only Calculus and Diff EQ.

However, it doesn't seem like a bad read for someone who already has some background in QM.

A. Neumaier
Science Advisor
Insights Author
2019 Award