Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which book i start with ?

1. May 7, 2009 #1
    Hi every one
    i'm a student in physics and i will take next fall e and m class (electric and megnatic ) and i don't know which book will help me in .i don't have any idea about it ...i prefer to an entrodiction book.
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. May 7, 2009 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Can you just get the textbook early? What is the text for the class?

4. May 9, 2009 #3
    I've got a similar problem though with exams looming a slightly different position.. I'm studying Engineering but one of my modules is Electrical Circuits. At present I have gone though my classes and also my lecture notes but so far it just isn't sinking in. I just don't understand how to use either the nodal method or the loop method for working out the circuit.

Is there any book that clearly explains, even has some clear examples? Or even a website??? I've got Engineering Circuit Analysis by Kemmerly, its by far the best book I've read at the moment but it still doesn't explain the proceedure of nodal analysis thoroughly enough.

Sorry to steal this thread but I didn't feel appropriate to make a new thread with almost exactly the same topic.

5. May 9, 2009 #4

Defennder

Homework Helper

If you're referring to E&M, I recommend Engineering Electromagnetics by Hayt & Buck. I used that textbook for my course. It was very informative.

Of course the best text for a course is the one recommended by your lecturer.

6. May 9, 2009 #5
    But he doesn't recommend any book. And that's not always the case, as I've definitely found with other subjects..

7. May 9, 2009 #6