What math electives should I take as a mechanical engineering major?

• Thread starter rokinv8
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Class
In summary, the person is a freshman mechanical engineering major and loves math. They are currently taking calculus II and plan on taking calculus III and differential equations next semester. They are unsure about which math electives to take beyond that, and are considering classes on partial derivatives and calculus IV. They have already taken some credit from high school, allowing them to take some electives. They are also considering taking a statistics course and combinatorial mathematics. They are also taking linear algebra this semester which has already helped them in their physics course.
rokinv8
hi. i am a freshman majoring in mechanical engineering and i really love math. i am in calculus II right now during my first semester. as a mechanical engineering major, my university requires that engineers only take calculus I, II, and III and differential equations. i already had a bunch of credit from high school which frees me up to take a couple of electives. i am planning on taking calc III and differential equations next semester but i don't know what math electives i should take beyond that. i am stuck between a class on partial derivatives and calculus IV (introductory analysis). any help with a decision would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
If they don't already require it, I would suggest taking a statistics course. It should be required though. Also, combinatorial mathematics helps to broaden your thinking about mathematics as well. I'm not a mathematician, but both those courses seemed to help when dealing with the real world for me.

As far as which between partial derivatives and calculus IV to take, I only went to calc II, so can't really say.