Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which Method do you Use?

1. Jan 17, 2009 #1
    Which method of cancellation do you do personally

and which is better?

I am worried that I am the only one who does (1)

I am in 2nd year pure math right now and I am really worried I am

doing this weird (even though I always get the correct answer)

[​IMG]

There is the eg ...When you have something multiplying the fraction,

do you usually multiply it all up on top of the numerator and then canel

or do you like to just cancel from the start like in (2)

I think I use (1) because if I had something where I had to cancel out exponents too
    it would seem awkard to do it (2) to me eg

[​IMG]

also with something almost trivial like:

[​IMG]

I am not sure which MOST people do in their heads, it seems frustrating and trivial to do it like (1) ...but if I dont, and do it like (2) then how am I being consistent ...

thanks for your help
    I did not explain myself last time, and its been frustrating me all week.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 17, 2009 #2

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

What is confusing you? Your methods "1" and "2" are equivalent. Can you FORMALLY express what property of numbers you are applying? You learned these properties in Algebra 1.

For a number k not equal to zero and another number h not equal to zero (or should I specify they are Real numbers?), (k*h)/h = k
    Also, you understand that h/h = 1.

4. Jan 17, 2009 #3
    Symbol Point, I get the rules, but

(k*h)/h

isnt EXACTLY the same was

what's written above...

the notation is still different even though I know they mean the same thing

I just want to know what one most people apply

whats confusing me is ...with every other rule, there seems to be one universal rule to go with it that can be put into symbols