Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Who has a PhD

1. Feb 12, 2007 #1
    Im just wondering that who has a PhD in this forum?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 12, 2007 #2
    I just had one a few weeks ago :smile: (in experimental nuclear physics)
    Thank you for reminding me :biggrin:

4. Feb 12, 2007 #3

Math Is Hard

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I had a PhD once. But he was a whiney guy, so I dumped him.

*bah dum dum shhzz*

5. Feb 12, 2007 #4
    I thought I got a PhD in the mail last week. Turns out it was only a couple of BS degrees, so I tossed 'em in a corner.

6. Feb 12, 2007 #5

Math Is Hard

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You couldn't trade up those two BSs for a PhD? What's the world coming to?:eek:

7. Feb 13, 2007 #6
    i'm just wondering, how long does it usually take to acquire a PhD degree? on average

8. Feb 13, 2007 #7

Kurdt

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

In the Uk its 3 years full time or up to 6 part time which is usual. Of course thats after you've done your masters degree which takes 4 years. Most other places are of a similar time scale.

9. Feb 13, 2007 #8
    hmm....weird i thought that master's degrees takes 1 to 2 years max and PhD a year maybe, mostly depends on the individual

i'm doing my BSs in chemical engineering still a freshman

10. Feb 13, 2007 #9
    That's what I told them! You'd think I could trade a couple BS degrees in physics and math for at least one PhD in psychology, or something. It's inflation, I tell ya!

If you start straight out of undergrad, it typically takes 4-6 years...probably closer to six than four. But if you get your master's degree first, then you can chop off one to two years from that. That's what all the professors and grad students tell me, anyway.

Last edited: Feb 13, 2007
  11. Feb 13, 2007 #10

Tom Mattson

Staff Emeritus