Why Are Waves So Long? Exploring the Mysteries of Frequency and Wavelength

• Thread starter Newtons Apple
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Waves
In summary: , it only changed the distance it traveled in one second. frequency is still the same, only the distance it covers in one second changed.
Newtons Apple
Hi everyone... So, I may be putting too much thought into this. But I'm studying for my Ham Radio license, and I was pondering the size of our allotted range of frequencies. The lowest frequency is in the 160 meter range (clocking in at 1.8 Mhz) So, of course I was thinking what other things use those lower ranges and what they equate to in meters. I noticed that 1 Hertz. (One cycle per second) is equal to 299792458 meters! How is this possible? And Why? If a hertz is a cycle per second, does that really mean it's traveling 299792458 meters per second?

Also for something like low, can you possibly even modulate it to send data? To me, it feels like that wavelength is so long, that it'd be hard to actually "apply" data.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Newtons Apple said:
If a hertz is a cycle per second, does that really mean it's traveling 299792458 meters per second?

Yes, light travels at 299792458 meters per second.

Newtons Apple said:
Also for something like low, can you possibly even modulate it to send data? To me, it feels like that wavelength is so long, that it'd be hard to actually "apply" data.
Extremely Low Frequency RF communications is used with submarines because the low frequency RF can penetrate seawater much better than shorter wavelengths:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extremely_low_frequency

Wikipedia said:
ELF frequencies have been used in only a very few human-made communication systems. ELF waves can penetrate seawater, which makes them useful incommunication with submarines.

Newtons Apple said:
If a hertz is a cycle per second, does that really mean it's traveling 299792458 meters per second?