Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why do particles radiate outward?

1. Mar 25, 2005 #1
    Forgive my naive question - I am not a scientist.

Why does radiation radiate?

Particle a sits there giving off radiation - ok but why? Why does the radiation move away from the source instead of simply sitting there or indeed radiating inward as opposed to out?

I ask this because we see this effect and accept it but cannot yet describe the mechanism for Gravity - can it not just be the opposite and equal reaction to radiation from mass and directed inward?

Forgive me if this isa stupid question.
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 25, 2005 #2

Gold Member

The only stupid question is the question not asked.

Radiation is a photon (unless you're talking about alpha or beta radiation). By definition, it moves at the speed of light. It's got to go somehere.
  4. Mar 25, 2005 #3

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Radiation can't move towards the source as it starts at the source and is therefore as close as it get to the source so any movement must be away from the source (thoguh for a spatially extended source some of the radiation emmited on the outer edges will generally move towards the centre).

If radaiion doesn't move at all it stays at the source and we don't detect it, infact as it doesn't move and due to the various conservation laws it's exactly as if no radiation was emitted at all.
  5. Mar 25, 2005 #4
    Radiation is simply self inducing electric and magnetic fields. A changing electric field induces a magnetics field, this magnetic field induces an electric field, and so on.
  6. Mar 25, 2005 #5

Gold Member

re: Why do particles radiate outward?

Because if they tried to radiate inward they'd bump into each other. :biggrin:

Sorry... there are enough people giving serious answers...
  7. Mar 25, 2005 #6

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper