Quantum Computing for Beginners: Understanding Double Hadamard Gates

In summary, the rule for adding vectors is that you add them component by component, and this rule still holds when the vectors have the same label (0 or 1).
Quark Effect
TL;DR Summary
Cannot entirely understand why some of the terms cancel each other out while double Hadamard gates are applied.
Hi guys, I am an absolute beginner in quantum computing. I am really curious about its mechanics but my lack of knowledge in mathematics makes me struggle. I cannot entirely understand why numbers |1> cancel each other out while double Hadamard gates are applied. If the rule is to cancel out the same numbers, why then |0> stays the same, as well as the √2? Thanks

cancelling out0.png

Physics news on Phys.org
Quark Effect said:
I cannot entirely understand why numbers |1> cancel each other out while double Hadamard gates are applied.

The ##0## and ##1## inside the kets ##|0\rangle## and ##|1\rangle## are not numbers; they're labels for basis vectors in a vector space. You could just as well call them ##|A\rangle## and ##|B\rangle##, or ##|\text{Laurel}\rangle## and ##|\text{Hardy}\rangle## for that matter, and everything would be the same.

The rule for adding vectors is that you add them component by component, i.e., you add up all the terms involving each basis vector separately. So you have:

$$
\frac{1}{\sqrt{2}} \left( \frac{|0\rangle + |1\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} + \frac{|0\rangle - |1\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} \right)
$$

equals

$$
\frac{1}{\sqrt{2}} \left( \frac{|0\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} + \frac{|1\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} + \frac{|0\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} - \frac{|1\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} \right)
$$

equals

$$
\frac{1}{\sqrt{2}} \left( (1 + 1) \frac{|0\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} + (1 - 1) \frac{|1\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} \right)
$$

equals

$$
\frac{1}{\sqrt{2}} \left( 2 \frac{|0\rangle}{\sqrt{2}} \right)
$$

equals

$$
|0\rangle
$$

• Love
Likes Quark Effect and vanhees71
PeterDonis said: