Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why do we fear thinking?

1. Jun 20, 2008 #1
    Why do humans fear thinking? From personal experience, I've seen people scuttle at the thought of homework or some mathematical calculation. It seems we are inherently lazy. Is this because the thinking process requires tremendous energy or what?

If I asked you to simplify (a + b)^7 x (x + c)^3 you'd all sigh.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 20, 2008 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't know if the root is a fear of thinking, but it's certainly socially acceptable to be lazy/bad at math.

I bet every one of us has experienced this: you're at a social function. A person asks you about your career/schooling/interests. You say, I'm a scientist, or I studied physics in college. At best, the person says nothing and the conversation dies an awkward death; at worst, they go on about how bad they are at math, and start apologizing for how bad they did in high school algebra. "Oh I can't do math! I've flunked math since 5th grade!"

Now, would they do similar apologizing if they were bad at reading? Does anyone ever say, "Oh, I'm terrible at reading! In fact, I'm practically illiterate!" and laugh it off?

Why is it so acceptable to be bad at math?
  4. Jun 20, 2008 #3

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Really? That might apply generally, but do you really think it applies here? :biggrin:
  5. Jun 20, 2008 #4
    The social climate somehow is completely ignorant of the fact that scientists and people who work in science are normal human beings with normal abilities; the only discernible difference from most of the population is that they choose to follow a different passion.
  6. Jun 20, 2008 #5
    Replace all "I can'ts" to "Yes I cans" and you will be amazed you could accomplish more. It should apply to all areas in life.