Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why is it that a disproportionate amount of physicists are Jewish?

1. Aug 14, 2011 #1
    From what I, and many others have observed, an extremely disproportionate amount of physicists are Jewish (comparing it to how many Jews there actually are). Does anyone have any explanations for this?

Please don't rspond with "I'm a physicist and I'm not Jewish."

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 14, 2011 #2
    I'm a physicist and I'm not Jewish. -_-'

And I don't really know. What I -do- know is that I read somewhere that Jewish people have on average the highest IQ of the population. Perhaps this leads more Jewish people to go into the sciences.

Ooooh, racism! No, people, this is SCIENCE! *kicks people with methodology*

But the truth is, a.) I'm not even sure whether there actually ARE relatively more Jewish people in physics, and b.) I'm too lazy to start looking for that IQ-related study, so you might as well ignore that remark.

4. Aug 14, 2011 #3

DavidSnider

Gold Member

I wonder if this is just a product of the late 19th century.. Historically I don't think this phenomenon held true for science.

5. Aug 14, 2011 #4
    Well, we've only really -had- science the way it is now since approximately the 19th century, so that might not be all that weird. Seriously though, OP, sources, sources, sources! How am I even supposed to know whether there are relatively more Jews in physics than there are in other fields? Since I'm not into the field of research myself (yet), I can't say I have observed this yet.

6. Aug 14, 2011 #5

DaveC426913

Gold Member

Hobin is correct. It would be folly to try to explain something before even knowing if it is true. Or maybe you live in Israel.

7. Aug 14, 2011 #6

Evo

Staff: Mentor

Please post the statistics that show this.