Why is Number-Flux Four-Vector Frame-Independent?

• I
  • Thread starter GR191511
  • Start date
In summary, the number-flux four-vector is frame-independent because it is a four vector and its components are defined in the local rest frame of the fluid, making it a scalar. This is different from Galilean physics where the number density and flux are frame-dependent.
GR191511
Recently I started studying 《A First Course in General Relativity》 and I came across a question in my book:
##\vec N =n\vec U##where n is number density,U is four-velocity,N is number-flux four-vector .The following sentence confused me:
In Galilean physics,number density was a scalar,the same in all frames(no Lorentz contraction),while flux was quite another thing:a three-vector that was frame dependent,since the velocities of particles are a frame-dependent notion.Our relativistic approach has unified these two notions into a single,frame-independent four-vector...
I wonder Why the number-flux four-vector is frame-independent?

Physics news on Phys.org
All four-vectos are frame independent

You should read page 88 (in the second edition) where it is explained what 'frame independent' means in this case

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes GR191511, dextercioby and PeroK
GR191511 said:
I wonder Why the number-flux four-vector is frame-independent?
Because it's a four vector. They're frame independent by construction.