Why is the speed of light?

1. Hi

I'm a confused layman, and was hoping to get some answers to the question: why is the speed of light? That's not a typo - I mean, why is it what it is? The questions below are specific ways to ask essentially the same question.

1. The speed of light is 299,792,458 metres per second. What stops it from reaching 299,792,459 m/s?

2. If light has no mass, what stops it from having infinite speed? What’s slowing it down?

3. Light from the sun takes 8 minutes 24 seconds to reach the earth – why can’t it get here faster?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. HallsofIvy

HallsofIvy 40,807
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I'm not sure what your question is. Is "why is the speed of light that particular number and not some other number?"

The speed of light happens to be that number because of a particular choice of the length of a meter- which is completely arbitrary. If you measure distance in km and time in hours, or distance in feet and time in minutes, you would get some other number. Nothing very deep about that!

4. jtbell

Staff: Mentor

The Universe has a fundamental symmetry, called Lorentz symmetry, which causes to exist an asymptotic upper limit on all relative speeds. Objects with mass can never reach that upper limit. Massless objects (such as photons) must travel at that limiting speed, and no other. These are consequences of the mathematics of Lorentz symmetry.

This obviously begs the question, "why does the universe have Lorentz symmetry?" Nobody knows. (Or at least there is no generally accepted answer, as far as I know.) This is the ultimate answer to all "why?" questions in physics, by the way. The answer to any "why?" question leads to another "why?" question, and ultimately we always come to one that we cannot answer in the context of physics, at least not yet.

5. Gib Z

Gib Z 3,348
    Homework Helper