Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why Pauli's Exclusion Principle?

1. Jul 15, 2005 #1
    Hi. I'm a sophomore undergrad studying chemistry at Rice University. I recently took quantum mechanics... and I now realize I should have gone into physics rather than chemistry. Ok. Whatever.

Bosons are particles with integer spins (helium-4 atoms). Fermions are particles with half-odd integer spins (electrons). I can't think of a non-(God-made-it-so) reason for why every fermion in a given system must have a unique set of quantum numbers (Pauli's Exclusion Principle). This rule simply doesn't apply to bosons. While this phenomena in nature is the very reason we observe such diverse chemistry among the chemical elements, could it be that the exclusion principle is simply an axiom of nature?

If not, I'm really, really dying for a good expanation. :confused:
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2005 #2
    In a Nutshell Proton Decay! ..in an ElectronShell Virtual-Decay

To get to the bottom of things you have to start from the top

If one starts from topDOWN principles, then the Electron Spin, prevents tables and chairs from penetrating the floor they stand upon.

The 'Space-Quantization', or by the same person who coined this effect, Pauli Exclusion Principle, is generated from Electron Spin Angular Momentum.

Quantum Ranging?..Whilst moving in a certain direction, say along the Mendelev Table?..one has to know which way is up, and which way is down?, with respect to Atomic Structure, things have to know along which 'Path', Gravity wants to send its signals!

Photons comminicate this fact to Neigbouring matter , without this communication, jumping off a Table to the floor would be rather boring immpossibility!