Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why the youth is Afraid?

1. Feb 19, 2006 #1
    There is something i have seen,why the youth(including me) is afraid....afraid to ask questions in the class..afraid to come out clearly,blodly...what is this invisible fear that holds back the students.
    What do you think?

i have seen many many times,that when the teacher teaches and even if noone in the class understand any thing even then they agree to keep quiet..

What is the possible solution to this>?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 19, 2006 #2

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

As a high school teacher, I know what you are talking about, and there is not a single reason, that much I can tell you for certain.

Depending on the student, the teacher, and the subject, here are a few reasons that some students (and in some cases entire classes) never speak up:

1: afraid to look stupid; "I am the only one who doesn't understand what's going on. If I ask a question, I'll look stupid and other kids will tease me."

2: Afraid to look too smart; "If I ask a question, other kid's will think I am a suck up/brown nose."

3: Afraid of ridicule; "the teacher will shoot me down if I ask a question because (a) teacher has no patience or tolerence for anyone other than the "A" students; (b) teacher does not like to be interrupted; (c) teacher is just plain awful."

4:Students are bored lifeless; "Bueler? Anyone? Anyone?"

5: Bad dynamic mix of students in the room; just about everyone hates everyone else in the class.

This is just a partial list; all that I could think of in a minute.

Only one thing I can think of to remedy all of these problems (and more) is to hire highly talented teachers. What do you think is the best way of attracting better candidates to the teaching profession?

4. Feb 19, 2006 #3