Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why waves ?

1. Feb 9, 2008 #1
    hi all

why do many things in physics move in waves ?

in fact , if im not mistaken , everything apart from mass moves in waves :

electromagnetism ( and light ) , heat ( not ? ) (do phonons move in waves or lines ? ) ,
    radioactiv rays , weak nuclear force , gravitons (?) and many " tiny tiny things".

why in waves ?

spacetime curvature does not cause the wave behavior or does it ?

i hope for a simple answer ( since im no expert in physics )

regards
    garfield1729

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 9, 2008 #2
    I don't know why they associate everything with waves (and personally I don't believe in any wave other than mechanical waves). There are de-broglie waves associated with matter too! So there is nothing in the universe which is not a wave(according to the scientists).

4. Feb 9, 2008 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

De-broglie wavelength has been experimentally proven for electrons showing interference patterns.

I'm not sure the OP question is answerable, though. It's just the way things are.

5. Feb 9, 2008 #4

daniel_i_l

Gold Member

Well, you usually get a wave when a change in one point causes changes to other points around it in a time dependent way.

6. Feb 9, 2008 #5
    I am not so sure. Something moving must be a kind of energy. And energy changes from one form to another and vice versa, that's the way it holds itself when moving.
    Hope to hear from others.

7. Feb 10, 2008 #6
    @garfield1729:

It's actually a very interesting question. In fact mass DO move in wave, in a circular or otherwise conical trajectory. They do not get 'transported' -that's it.

However, any movement should be steady like a jet erupting from an, medical syringe or oscillating, with peaks and troughs. The easiest describable of oscillating movement is via simple harmonic waves.