Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why would I travel as a wave?

1. Jan 5, 2010 #1
    I'm an undergraduate physics student and whilst Quantum Physics is a fascinating area, it has me constantly asking questions - probably a good thing right?

Now one of the fundamental principles to Quantum theory is the wave-particle duality of particles and light. I understand the history behind the concept (I think), but I still struggle to understand why a particle would ''want'' to travel as a wave. In my head I'm watching a particle zooming through the air in a sinusoidal motion. (I know there are lots of problems with this, i.e. uncertainty principle etc) but essentially this is right? Now in classical mechanics, a billiard ball (The generic object in EVERY book) moves in straight lines, it's a logical shortest-path motion. Quantum effects can be ignored due to the significantly large mass of the ball. Straight lines make sense for getting to places as quickly as possible. Waves don't. The only way I can see a wave making sense is if the medium I'm travelling through (as a photon or quantum particle) is forcing me to take a wave-like motion.

Throw your stuff at me! I know this is a very crude question, with very crude analogies, but I hope you can see my line of thought. Or wave of thought, whatever...

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 5, 2010 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The theory doesn't say that it's doing anything "sinusoidal" as it's moving from an emission event to a dectection event. Actually it doesn't tell you anything at all about what the particle does between emission and dection. It just tells you how to calculate the probability of detection. (The infamous "interpretations" of QM are all offering suggestions about what happens in transit, but QM itself doesn't).