Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why?

1. Mar 10, 2004 #1
    Why are the moderators on this web site so concerned with controlling the what views are expressed here? It seems that everytime there is a discussion that questions their precious dogmas they simply try to block it out.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 10, 2004 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

It isn't the views, its the tone. Browse the TD forum and you'll find lots and lots of views that are flat out wrong and though we try to correct them, we certainly allow discussion of them so long as the discussion is civil.

edit to elaborate:
    If you are asking why we so fervently 'cling' to 'established physics,' its really quite simple: it works.

Several of us, (myself and Chroot most noteably) have little tolerance for baseless conjecture. The reason is that I'm an engineer, not a physicist. I deal with the real, not the theoretical.

As someone else (Tom or Janus, maybe?) put it, SR though still 'just a theory,' long ago passed the stage where its validity was up for question. It was studied and debated heavily for perhaps the first half of the century and the scientific community eventually came to the consensus that it is valid. Please note, that's not a trival thing for the scientific community to accept a theory as valid: thousands of papers were written, experiments performed, observations taken, etc. and they confirm SR to an immaculate level of precision.

And this is where I enter: as an engineer, I deal with ideas (for the most part) the scientific community long ago accepted as valid. One job I applied for, for example, was building GPS satellites for Lockheed in Philly. You cannot understand how GPS works without accepting the validity of SR (and GR).