Is It Possible to Charge an iPod Using a Windmill on a Car?

In summary, a high school physics student created a charger for their iPod that is powered by a windmill. They are unsure of whether or not the charger will work with AC current, but they are considering other potential problems. The charger would need an AC to DC converter and a cigarette lighter adapter.
LightningB0LT
I'm a high school physics student, so keep my limited knowledge in mind. Basically the other day I had the idea to create a charger for my iPod that's powered by a windmill, which I could attach to the outside of my car. I've never actually built a windmill before, but I'm pretty confident I can get one working. What I don't know, however, is whether I can charge my battery with the AC current the windmill will produce. Can you charge a battery with AC, or does it have to be DC? I'm sure there's also other potential problems that I haven't thought of, but I thought it was a cool idea so I decided to look into it. Is something like this even possible?

Engineering news on Phys.org
You would need an AC to DC converter first. I do not know if they make them at the small AC power levels you will be generated. You are going to need (12V DC at 1A according to the apple website). One problem I can think of is maintaining a constant frequency of the voltage going into the AC-DC converter. For example, if you drive real fast you will probably get greater than 60hz of electricity, but if you travel, say at 20 mph, you may only achieve 20hz.

I am not an electrical engineer so I can't give you 100% full-proof advice.

Most people just get an adapter that plugs into the cigarette lighter.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002HH9AQ4/?tag=pfamazon01-20

If your car doesn't have a lighter, you can get an adapter for the USB port.

Or do you just want an excuse to put a windmill on your car?

Last edited by a moderator: