Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Women in combat

1. Apr 3, 2003 #1

Kerrie

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

What do you think of women in combat? After the rescue of Jessica Lynch, the female POW rescued the other day, I think women are very capable of combat as men are. I think if their training accomodated their strength (in comparison to men), they are perfectly able of handling the stress of war.

Besides, if we women want equal rights, then we have to have equal responsibilities:wink:

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 3, 2003 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

What exactly does that mean? Should we make lighter weapons so they are easier for women to carry?

I think its fine if a woman is in combat as long as she meets the EXACT same physical requirements as the men she fights alongside.

I have some personal experience in this that I'll add later.

4. Apr 3, 2003 #3

Njorl

Science Advisor

I think that if a woman can do the job, they should have the opportunity. It would not suprise me if there were some jobs that almost no women could do though. I believe combat infantry soldiers are expected to be able to march 30 miles a day with a 45 pound pack for several days in a row. It would not also suprise me if there were some jobs that women were better suited for than men. They tend to be smaller, and more reslient to long term temperature stresses than men. This might make them better tank crews.

If wars in the future will be like Iraq and Afghanistan, then it is clear that no positions will really be "non-combat".

Njorl

5. Apr 3, 2003 #4

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Re: Re: Women in combat

The notion of a "non-combat" soldier has always been an oxymoron.

6. Apr 3, 2003 #5

Kerrie

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

Re: Re: Women in combat