News Women in combat (1 Viewer)

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Kerrie

Oregonian
Staff Emeritus
Gold Member
What do you think of women in combat? After the rescue of Jessica Lynch, the female POW rescued the other day, I think women are very capable of combat as men are. I think if their training accomodated their strength (in comparison to men), they are perfectly able of handling the stress of war.

Besides, if we women want equal rights, then we have to have equal responsibilities:wink:

russ_watters

Mentor
Originally posted by Kerrie
I think if their training accomodated their strength (in comparison to men)
What exactly does that mean? Should we make lighter weapons so they are easier for women to carry?

I think its fine if a woman is in combat as long as she meets the EXACT same physical requirements as the men she fights alongside.

I have some personal experience in this that I'll add later.

Njorl

Guy in a red jumpsuit
Science Advisor
I think that if a woman can do the job, they should have the opportunity. It would not suprise me if there were some jobs that almost no women could do though. I believe combat infantry soldiers are expected to be able to march 30 miles a day with a 45 pound pack for several days in a row. It would not also suprise me if there were some jobs that women were better suited for than men. They tend to be smaller, and more reslient to long term temperature stresses than men. This might make them better tank crews.

If wars in the future will be like Iraq and Afghanistan, then it is clear that no positions will really be "non-combat".

Njorl

russ_watters

Mentor
Re: Re: Women in combat

Originally posted by Njorl
If wars in the future will be like Iraq and Afghanistan, then it is clear that no positions will really be "non-combat".

Njorl
The notion of a "non-combat" soldier has always been an oxymoron.

Kerrie

Oregonian
Staff Emeritus
Gold Member
Re: Re: Women in combat