1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Work done by a Spring and such

1. Mar 11, 2008 #1
    Hey guys, this is an example from a quiz last semester that im studying off of. However I cant figure out how to solve this question. Here is goes:

1. Block A, with Mass m, sits on top of a spring which is compressed 10 cm. When the spring is released, the block is launched to a maximum height of 2m above its starting point. Block B, with mass 2m, is placed on the same spring and launched 2m above the starting point.

a) how far should the same spring be compressed to launch block A 4m above its starting point?

b) how far should the same spring be compressed to launch block B to a max hight of 2m above its starting point.

For part A, I ended up with 40 cm. However Im pretty sure thats wrong. if someone can take me through the thought process and help id really appreciate it.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 11, 2008 #2
    Work by a spring and such

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hey guys, this is an example from a quiz last semester that im studying off of. However I cant figure out how to solve this question. Here is goes:

1. Block A, with Mass m, sits on top of a spring which is compressed 10 cm. When the spring is released, the block is launched to a maximum height of 2m above its starting point. Block B, with mass 2m, is placed on the same spring and launched 2m above the starting point.

a) how far should the same spring be compressed to launch block A 4m above its starting point?

b) how far should the same spring be compressed to launch block B to a max hight of 2m above its starting point.

2. Relevant equations

hookes law: 1/2kxf^2 + 1/2kxi^2 = W
    Kinetic Energy: W = 1/2mv^2
    Kd= mg