1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Work for FBI ?

1. Feb 8, 2006 #1
    Hmm, that's a pretty neat idea isn't it?
    Will they accept me ?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 8, 2006 #2
    I think the way I am thinking may only suit for jobs in FBI, CIA department.

I search their homepages but currrently no available positions in computer programming, sys admin, chemistry, biology

Last edited: Feb 8, 2006
  4. Feb 8, 2006 #3
    Well what do you do? You need to be able to do something to work for the FBI (i.e. forensic scientist, investigator) and hope you're needed.

5. Feb 8, 2006 #4
    My major is computer science, and sure I like a job as an investigator.

6. Feb 8, 2006 #5
    By the way, to be clearer, I am not a US citizen. Will this be the main reason for not being accepted ?

7. Feb 8, 2006 #6
  8. Feb 8, 2006 #7
    Thanks, i will think again, :biggrin:

9. Feb 9, 2006 #8
    Yes, unfortunately, the FBI and 95% of all U.S.Government jobs require U.S. citizenship for employment (http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/EI9.asp).

For the kind of work you are interested in, you would also have to undergo an exhaustive background investigation in order to obtain a security clearance as well.

There are a few jobs out there (e.g. linguist, translator, etc.) open to foreign nationals with green cards. Certainly the entire intelligence community as well as the State Department are looking for people with foreign language ability. This is the main website for all federal jobs: http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/

Hope this helps you out.:smile:

10. Feb 9, 2006 #9
    Working for government is not always benifitial..

11. Feb 9, 2006 #10