Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Work scalar ?

1. Sep 17, 2010 #1
    Hi, I'm a bit confused on how 'work' can be scalar. I understand that W=FSCosX where X is the angle between the point of application of force and the object. So if the Work depends upon the angle, shouldn't that mean it depends on direction of force applied making it a vector? I'm a high school student so please don't kill me because I'm honestly confused.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2010 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

In what direction does work point?

4. Sep 18, 2010 #3
    You are nearly there, but look more closely at your formula.

A vector, multiplied by a number is still a vector.

cosX is a number so any single vector, multiplied by cosX is a vector.

But in your formula both F and S are vectors.

So you have two vectors multiplied together and their product multiplied by cosx.

Whenever you have this situation the result is a scalar.

5. Sep 18, 2010 #4
    Force is a vector (3D). The "difference" from point A to B can be called a vector (d=(x1,y1,z1)-(x2,y2,z2)). Between, there is a so called scalar product. Meaning:
    Fx * dx + Fy * dy + Fz * dz = W (Work). Do you understand that the scalar product between vectors is a number and in this case: Work is scalar?
    If not, try in mind to move a body where you live. Take the body and have a nice trip to Regensburg in Germany. Move the body there (cheaper to do it in your neighboorship but nevertheless a nice journey). The energy you will spend is the same. And the direction is not important, there is no east or west or north or south energy.

Best regards,
    Jens

6. Sep 18, 2010 #5
    F.Scos x=W
    S is displacement i.e. a vector quantity
    i.e.
    Scosx is also a vector
    F is force i.e. a vector
    u must remember that the dot product of two vectors is scalar