What are some ways a physics major can make a positive impact on the world?

• Thread starter Physiker
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Work
In summary, a physics major could work on many things that would help the world, such as developing solar power or finding ways to reduce traffic congestion.
Physiker
Hey folks,

I'm a third-year undergraduate studying physics. I'm getting to that point where I really have to think about what I want to do with my degree. One truth I've found about myself is that I really need my work to feel like it's beneficial to the world in some way; otherwise I just end up feeling this existential dread every time I go to work. The idea of working in industry on some pointless product sounds awful, and as much as I find research fascinating, I really don't want to toil away for countless hours just to improve the precision of some constant by another significant figure.

So, I'm curious what you all think. What are some things a physics major could work on that would help the world? Either at the bachelor level or the PhD level. The energy crisis is a huge problem - is cold fusion a dead end, or do people still research that? Would a solar power company take a physicist over an engineer? I know people with physics degrees are sometimes hired in completely unrelated fields for their problem solving skills, I'm curious how common this is. Applying a physics degree to social work of some kind could be really cool.

Any suggestions are much appreciated.
Cheers! <3

Physics news on Phys.org
Physiker said:
is cold fusion a dead end, or do people still research that?
Both.
What about hot fusion? It is an active research topic.
Physiker said:
Would a solar power company take a physicist over an engineer?
They'll probably look for both. The cells need various parts of chemistry and physics, making a product for a roof out of it needs physics and engineering.