Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Worst 10 Domain Names

  1. Dec 21, 2007 #1
    I found this list and I could not keep myself from kneeling over. Note that these may not be suited for the weak-hearted, hence the domain names are in the same color as the background, although the motivation is not. Highlight to see.

    1. A site called ‘Who Represents‘ where you can find the name of the agent that represents a celebrity. Their domain name… whorepresents.com
    2. Experts Exchange, a knowledge base where programmers can exchange advice and views at expertsexchange.com
    3. Looking for a pen? Look no further than Pen Island at penisland.net
    4. Need a therapist? Try Therapist Finder at therapistfinder.com
    5. Then of course, there’s the Italian Power Generator company… powergenitalia.com
    6. And now, we have the Mole Station Native Nursery, based in New South Wales: molestationnursery.com
    7. If you’re looking for computer software, there’s always ipanywhere.com
    8. Welcome to the First Cumming Methodist Church. Their website is cummingfirst.com
    9. Then, of course, there’s these brainless art designers, and their whacky website: speedofart.com
    10. Want to holiday in Lake Tahoe? Try their brochure website at gotahoe.com

    Yes, I'm an 8-year-old when it comes to humor, what did you expect?
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 21, 2007 #2
    haha those a good
     
  4. Dec 21, 2007 #3

    G01

    User Avatar
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

    :rofl::rofl:
     
  5. Dec 21, 2007 #4

    BobG

    User Avatar
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

    Honorable Mention:

    Holiday Rental company in Spain - www.choosespain.com

    Via Grafix (CAD Software and Learning CDs) - www.viagrafix.com
    (At least until Viagra came onto the market. They changed their name to Learn2.)

    Teachers Talk online teaching community: - www.teacherstalk.com

    Winters Express local newspaper - www.wintersexpress.com

    IHA Vegas holiday rentals - www.ihavegas.com
    (Evidently it's pretty serious, as their website is undergoing important maintenance.)

    Odds Extractor (online gambling resource) - www.oddsextractor.com
    (Farming never looked so good. Of course, now the link just forwards you to the site with their new name - Bet Angel)

    Big Al's fish supplies - www.bigalsonline.com

    Web One Internet service provider - www.webone.com

    And never, never start a business on the Cook Islands. Their country code (TLD) is .ck and they use .co for their commercial domains - http://www.cinews.co.ck/
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2007
  6. Dec 22, 2007 #5

    Hootenanny

    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

    Kneeling over what?
    :rofl:
     
  7. Dec 22, 2007 #6

    Gokul43201

    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

  8. Dec 22, 2007 #7
    viagrafix.com how funny i wonder what they were thinking
     
  9. Dec 23, 2007 #8
    hehe cute..
     
  10. Dec 23, 2007 #9

    BobG

    User Avatar
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

    It would have never have occurred to them. They had their company name (and domain name) well before Viagra came along. Viagra is a completely made up name (a definite benefit when it comes to trademarks - it's extremely difficult for a competitor to somehow incorporate the Viagra trademark into a new name), so Via Grafix should have been a pretty safe name.

    I wonder what would have happened if Via Grafix just changed their line of business instead changing their name (Pfizer Inc v. The Magic Islands
     
Know someone interested in this topic? Share this thread via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook

Have something to add?



Similar Discussions: Worst 10 Domain Names
Loading...