Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Would this experiment work?

1. Feb 14, 2010 #1
    Hi.

First I want to say that I'm not a physicist. I'm just a layman.

Well, I'm very disturbed with an experiment that I had imagined and I wish someone would help me understand if my reasoning would be correct...

First of all, I wish to know if this experiment could work in a laboratory:

http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/2290/experiment.gif [Broken]

(I put this drawn on ImageShack to facilitate viewing of the idea).

This is NOT my "final" experiment yet. First I need to know if this one should work.

Explaining this first experiment:

It would be a large electro-magnet, capable of generating a magnetic field strong enough to magnetically attract a metal disc located five meters away.
    The metal disc was placed on "support rails", but would be free to move forward and backward. The disk would be initially located 1 centimeter away from a wall of glass. When the electro-magnet was activated, would attract the metal disk, which would collide with the glass wall, which would prevent the disk's advance forward. Thus, while the electro-magnet was turned on, the metal disc would be stuck on the glass wall.

My first question: Is this experiment possible? Would it work this way?

If you consider this experiment is possible, I will explain my whole idea, that is an "extrapolation" of this experiment.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 14, 2010 #2
    The experiment is physically sound. Your only problems would be selecting the material of the disk, it would need to be highly ferromagnetic (strong attraction to magnetic fields) such as iron and generating a large enough magnetic field to attract something 5 meters away.

4. Feb 14, 2010 #3
    Nice. I'm very happy to know it should work. Now, my question is: