Your opinion on the noble prize?

• Thread starter catdogking
  • Start date
  • Tags
    noble prize
In summary, the Nobel prize is a prestigious award that is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to society. The prize is not solely based on the quality of the scientist's work, but on the impact that their work has had on society.
catdogking
what is your opinion on the noble prize...

i've always thought... that the best of the best... the best chemists in the world, the best physicist, the best economist etc... are awarded noble prizes...

so in essence.. a noble laureate, is one of the best in that field in the world...

but is that true??

i mean I am sure there are many brilliant physicist and chemist out there that never won a noble prize...

i mean,when you look at it... it is peer-chosen...

im sure there could be political reasons for choosing

im not a expert on the noble prize...

but people i guess see it as what every scientist strives for, which I am sure is true

but... just what is your opinion on it

Physics news on Phys.org
First off, it's the Nobel prize. People in each field pick the winners in their own specialties. You might want to Google it and find the Wiki.

turbo said:
First off, it's the Nobel prize. People in each field pick the winners in their own specialties. You might want to Google it and find the Wiki.

i know that... its just...

are nobel prize winners really the best of the best in that field

catdogking said:
i know that... its just...

are nobel prize winners really the best of the best in that field

The Nobel prize doesn't necessarily recognize the "best" in a particular field. It gives recognition to a particular scientist that has accomplished something of a high magnitude which deserves recognition.

The awarding of the Nobel Prize needs to be a televised event.

The prize is for the science, not for the scientist.

Per wiki on the prize: