1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Zwiebach quick calculation 10.6

1. Oct 8, 2007 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am somewhat new to creation and annhilation operators, but I can reduce the problem to showing that:

[tex] a_{p_1} ^{\dag} a_{p_2} ^{\dag} = a_{p_1} ^{\dag} + a_{p_2} ^{\dag} [/tex]

[tex] a_{p_1} ^{\dag} [/tex] is the creation operator for a particle with momentum p1 (if I understand it correctly)

Can someone help prove that?
    2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2007 #2
    This can't be right since if it were, then:
    [tex]a_{p_1}^{\dag} a_{p_2} ^{\dag} a_{p_3} ^{\dag} = a_{p_1}^{\dag}(a_{p_2}^{\dag} + a_{p_3}^{\dag}) = a_{p_1}^{\dag}a_{p_2}^{\dag} + a_{p_1}^{\dag}a_{p_3}^{\dag} = a_{p_1}^{\dag} + a_{p_2}^{\dag} + a_{p_1}^{\dag} + a_{p_3}^{\dag}[/tex]
    In order to do the calculation, apply H and P as defined in equations (10.60) and (10.61) directly to the state in (10.65). Use induction on k.
  4. Oct 8, 2007 #3
    That's weird though. How can it not be true if

\sum_{\vec{j}} \vec{j} a_j ^{\dag} a_j a_{p1}^{\dag} a_{p2}^{\dag}
    \sum_{\vec{j}} \vec{j} a_j ^{\dag} a_j a_{p1}^{\dag}
    \sum_{\vec{j}} \vec{j} a_j ^{\dag} a_j a_{p2}^{\dag}

5. Oct 8, 2007 #4
    In general, for operators, AB = AC does not imply B = C even when A is non-zero.
  6. Oct 8, 2007 #5
    Yes. I was wrong.

But then somehow you need to split up that long product of [tex] a_{p_k}^{\dag}[/tex] operators. You can commute them by 10.59, but they doesn't really help. Is there another way to split it into two terms?
  7. Oct 8, 2007 #6
    The formula [A,BC] = B[A,C] + [A.B]C will do nicely.
  8. Oct 10, 2007 #7
    Ah, I see. Thanks.