Can an INDIAN get in MIT???

by shishubhai
Tags: indian
shishubhai
Apr25-07, 01:15 AM
P: 1
Hi!

I am an Indian student in class 11th(passed my 10th this year).

I want to do undergraduation in Aeronautical Engineering from top Universities like Massachussetes, Stanford or UC,Berkeley.

What are the 'essentials' an applicant must have to make it to these colleges?

How do my high school transcript (I mean high school scores) affect my chances at admissions?

Is it true that one has to do loads of Extra-curricular activities to impress the admission officers to your side?

And last- Is it possible for a very good student in India- very good here says 90% scores- to get in MIT or they consider only outstanding kind of students from India?

Please reply! As I don't want to end daydreaming - Neither going to MIT, Stanford, or UC, nor to Indan IITs.

And yes! what minimum marks they require in SAT for an international student?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Going nuts? Turkey looks to pistachios to heat new eco-city
Space-tested fluid flow concept advances infectious disease diagnoses
SpaceX launches supplies to space station (Update)
chroot
Apr25-07, 03:49 AM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 10,424
There are many books available which list statistics, on figures like high school GPA and standardized scores, of accepted applicants at many schools.

No one here is qualified to say whether or not you specifically will get admitted, but the statistics will show you whether or not it's likely that you'll be admitted.

Top universities look for well-rounded students who will bring a lot of abilities to their communities, so extracurricular activities look very good on an application. Your high school grades are probably the most significant part of your application, but many other factors are weighed in. Universities don't typically announce how those factors are weighed, though.