Register to reply

What makes you a scientist? Degree? Job?

by xfinite
Tags: degree, makes, scientist
Share this thread:
xfinite
Jul20-11, 03:48 PM
P: 6
Hello everyone! I hope this is the correct spot for this question. Basically I was wondering who exactly can call themselves a scientist? I have several co-workers who have degrees in Environmental Science. We do not work in that field though. And during several debates - one in which they were arguing that Einstein hadn't "proved" anything and that it was all "theory". I was trying to explain to them that "theory" within science is not the same as in lay conversation. I explained that "theorys" explain facts. For example gravity is a fact. And the "theory of gravity" explains that fact. They responded to me - "Well, I'm a scientist. I have a degree in Environmental Science. And I'm telling you you're incorrect".

I do not have a degree in any science so basically they feel as though my understanding of anything scientific is meaningless because I have no credentials.

But back to my question. Does having a degree in Biology or Physics or Chemistry...etc....make you a scientist? Or does it simply say you have the credentials to get a job in that field of science? I'm not even sure that an Environmental Science degree is a "real" science degree actually. But I was hoping someone could shed some light on this for me!
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Wildfires and other burns play bigger role in climate change, professor finds
SR Labs research to expose BadUSB next week in Vegas
New study advances 'DNA revolution,' tells butterflies' evolutionary history
QuarkCharmer
Jul20-11, 04:45 PM
P: 1,035
Your co-workers must be recent graduates. "Scientist" is a job title. Theories are verified and accepted to be true. They are using the same fallacy that theists frequently use. Correct me if I am wrong, because I don't have one of those fancy "science" degrees yet either.
Andre
Jul20-11, 04:57 PM
PF Gold
P: 5,458