View Single Post
Nov27-09, 09:42 AM
Astronuc's Avatar
P: 21,880
AECL is the developer or NSSS supplier of the CANDU reactor.

Ontario Hydro was the principle nuclear utility in Canada. In 1999, OH was reorganized into several separate companies.

In 1998, the Progressive Conservative government of Mike Harris passed the Energy Competition Act which authorized the establishment of a market in electricity. In April 1999, Ontario Hydro was re-organized into five companies: Ontario Power Generation (OPG), the Ontario Hydro Services Company (later renamed Hydro One), the Independent Electricity Market Operator (later renamed the Independent Electricity System Operator), the Electrical Safety Authority, and Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation. The two commercial companies, Ontario Power Generation and Hydro One, were intended to eventually operate as private businesses rather than as crown corporations.