Draw Logic Gates: Find a Program to Create Gate Diagrams

In summary, Jake is looking for a program that will generate a schematic with explicit gate symbols from a given Boolean expression. He has unsuccessfully tried a CPLD compiler and a high-level tool. He is grateful for a suggestion to try a site that might teach him how to do this.
peejake
Drawing Logic Gates!

hey guys,
im new to this posting thing on this site...if any of u belong to bossgtcentral.com, i am xcortman there lol... Anyway guys i am looking for a program that allows me to enter a boolean expression no matter how complicating it is and i want it to give me the Logic Gate diagram for it>>> If any of u guys could help me with this problem... BD+AB/D/+AB/C
where + is &...and / is Not...Any help will be appreciated>>>
Thankyou
jake
:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
I googled palasm free download, and got lots of hits:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=palasm+free+download

PALASM is an assembler for PALs and CPLDs. You code up your logic in ABLE or Verilog, and it compiles the code and generates the programming file (and the report file) for most PALs and CPLDs.

(EDIT -- The report file is where it will tell you how it has hooked up the logic gates in the PAL you have targeted.)

hey berkman,
thankyou ill check it out!
PJ

My interpretation is that he's looking for a program that will generate a schematic with explicit gate symbols from a given Boolean expression.

- Warren

chroot said:
My interpretation is that he's looking for a program that will generate a schematic with explicit gate symbols from a given Boolean expression.

- Warren
True, but all I could think of was a CPLD compiler. And that only really helps him because of the constrained architecture of CPLDs. I wonder what he wants the generalized compiler for... And if he doesn't care about how deep his resulting "sea of gates" is, he's going to have to learn about timing constraints and synchronous design, eh? :devil: :biggrin: