Need help combining rotation and translation

In summary, the two propellers attached to opposite sides of the submersible rotate at different velocities, resulting in an unbalanced torque about the center of mass. You can represent the force on the sub (from the props) in terms of a net force acting through the CoM and a net torque about the CoM. The net force causes a linear acceleration, and the net torque results in a rotation (more accurately, an angular acceleration). As the linear and angular velocities increase, so does the viscous drag force (and torque) from the water.
SkitSystem
Hello, I'm trying to build a submersible, however for some reason the two propellers attached to opposite sides of the submersible, rotate at different velocities. I figure i might be able to use accelerometer data to help it go straight. My problem is trying to describe the curving almost spiraling motion mathematically. This is my first year of physics, and all i know is about rolling motion but i'll keep trying to derive a formula based on rolling logic, if no one can help me

Physics news on Phys.org
Given a large enough tank with still water, your submersible (unless it is a perfect sphere) will execute circular motion in the steady state (after executing a number of outward spirals).

The difference in propeller RPMs results in different forces acting on the submersible at the positions of the two propellers. This results in an unbalanced torque about the center of mass.

You can represent the force on the sub (from the props) in terms of a net force acting through the CoM and a net torque about the CoM. The net force causes a linear acceleration, and the net torque results in a rotation (more accurately, an angular acceleration). As the linear and angular velocities increase, so does the viscous drag force (and torque) from the water.