Inclined Planes and Acceleration

by itinerantphysicist
Tags: acceleration, inclined, planes
itinerantphysicist
Feb25-04, 10:03 PM
P: 6
Hi, I'm new to this forum and basically to physics itself, as I have previously concentrated my attention on the mathematical areas of calculus and algebra. I'm currently a sophomore at an Australian Catholic high school and have been recently tasked with a non-assessable project to increase our understanding of physics in our junior and senior years in addition to our gradeable assignment tasks.

The project poses the following question: "A bearing ball is released down an inclined plane at angle theta. The inclined plane leads down to a flat surface. What is the relationship between the angle of the inclined plane and the distnace travelled along the flat surface after it comes off the inclined plane?"

The assignment asks that I prove this by utilising three ancient or modern ideas of motion in relation to gravity etc. I have decided to use Galileo's formula of a = g(sin theta) and his theory of diluted and constant gravity across a glat surface.

Does anyone know how I can apply Newton's Laws (ie F = Ma) and suggest any other basic theories (my teacher explained that any excessively complicated theories will not be accepted as proof!!) which could help prove and demonstrate the relationship between the angle of the inclined plane and the distance travelled along the flat surface?

With Thanks,

K. Grimberg
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Simplicity is key to co-operative robots
Chemical vapor deposition used to grow atomic layer materials on top of each other
Earliest ancestor of land herbivores discovered
cookiemonster
Feb25-04, 10:31 PM
P: 991
You haven't specified the problem enough.