how do I measure the irradiance of a particular wavelength?

by dilan
Tags: irradiance, measure, wavelength
dilan
Jun25-07, 10:42 PM
P: 72
I am still a high school student and I want to do an experiment on a solar panel. I want filter out red light and then focus is it onto a solar panel and measure various intensities and how it relates to the variation of power output from the solar panel.
For this I suppose I should measure the irradiance. But I am not exactly sure on how to do this. Because I am measuring the Irradiance of a particular wavelength does the unit Wm−2 change?
I actually haven't got a good knowledge in this field, but if anyone is kind enough to provide me a link to learn more about this field, I would be really thankful.

Thanks alot.
Dilan
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Physicists design quantum switches which can be activated by single photons
'Dressed' laser aimed at clouds may be key to inducing rain, lightning
Higher-order nonlinear optical processes observed using the SACLA X-ray free-electron laser
FrogPad
Jun25-07, 11:20 PM
P: 838
Quote Quote by dilan View Post
I am still a high school student and I want to do an experiment on a solar panel. I want filter out red light and then focus is it onto a solar panel and measure various intensities and how it relates to the variation of power output from the solar panel.
For this I suppose I should measure the irradiance. But I am not exactly sure on how to do this. Because I am measuring the Irradiance of a particular wavelength does the unit Wm−2 change?
I actually haven't got a good knowledge in this field, but if anyone is kind enough to provide me a link to learn more about this field, I would be really thankful.

Thanks alot.
Dilan
Cool project.
For irradiance, check out:
http://rredc.nrel.gov/solar/spectra/.../ASTMG173.html

Here are a few books:
1) Jenny Nelson. (2003). The Physics of Solar Cells. Imperial College Press, Covent Garden, London.