2-pole vs. 4-pole motors

by James3849
Tags: 2pole, 4pole, motors
James3849
Aug19-08, 06:23 PM
P: 24
Hi everyone,

I'm a graduate mechanical engineer and I was wondering if I could open up the discussion of 2-pole versus 4-pole motors. Recently I have had to specify such motors for work and wanted to find out the advantages and disadvantages of each type.

Mechanically I realise that 2-pole motor being a higher speed (approx. 2900 rpm) are prone to wear more than its slower 4-pole counterpart. Also 2-pole's generally have a much higher NPSHR.

I am interested in other people's experience dealing with such motors and any other advantages and disadvantages that I havn't already stated. I am also interested in the electrical side of the matter, and the adv./disadv. there too.

Regards,

James3849
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Cougars' diverse diet helped them survive the Pleistocene mass extinction
Cyber risks can cause disruption on scale of 2008 crisis, study says
Mantis shrimp stronger than airplanes
Jwill
Aug19-08, 11:10 PM
P: 41
Torque is the big thing with poles. Electrically it's the same series circuitry with more coils.
Phrak
Aug19-08, 11:15 PM
P: 4,513
Cost?

Topher925
Aug20-08, 09:48 AM
P: 1,672

2-pole vs. 4-pole motors

Well first, tell us what kind of motors you are looking at. Synchronous, asynchronous, PM or not, etc. Usually the main reason for going with a higher pole is torque especially on the low end but there are many other factors.

Like you, I am a new ME and deal with motors along with their controls (SVM, SWM, DTC, FOC, etc) on a daily basis. The worst part about motors is they vary in so many ways its hard to determine what you want because there are so many ways of doing it. I found this website to be a great resource for information: http://www.electojects.com/motors/
James3849
Aug20-08, 05:30 PM